Singapore | Myanmar | Malaysia

Malaysia

General

Malaysia advertises itsself with the slogan "Malaysia Truly Asia" to attract tourists. It's rather questionable whether Malaysia is really the true Asia. However Malaysia can offer some of the most beautiful beaches in the world along with several other wonders of nature. Unfortunately deforestation has advanced very far, but especially in the eastern part of Malaysia (Sabah und Sarawak) you can find some National Park with remaining primary rainforest. In addition industrialization associated with pollution has not progressed as far as in western Malaysia and there are way less tourists.

Sonnenuntergang auf Pulau Tiga

Transportation

Domestic flights You can find a dense network of domestic flights in Malaysia. The major airline Malaysia Airlines (MAS) together with her subsidiary MAS Wings in Sarwak and Sabah wie as well as the budget carrier Air Asia offer flights to nearly every city. Kuala Lumpur is the main hub, but you can also find a lot of flights connecting cities without flying via Kuala Lumpur.
Bus There are bus connections between major cities with comfortable coaches. The number of companies offering bus services is often limited and fares are not negotiable. In general roads in Malaysia are in a very good state comparable to Western Europe or the US.
In the bigger cities you can also find a network of public transport with busses.
Shared taxi Shared taxis connect the big cities, but they also drive to smaller cities and villages. They often depart at the bus stations. Fares are slightly above thoses for normal busses. Sometimes you have two wait several hours until there are enough passenger sharing the taxi with you.
Taxi In the big cities and the tourist places you will always find a taxi. Most of them have a metered fare which is quite expensive. Fares are hardly negotiable, mostly they are fixed (for example a cab from Kota Kinabalu Airport to downtown will always cost you 20 RM).
You can also take a cab for long-distance drives to other cities. Most of the time you can find these special designated cabs at the bus stations. You can negotiate the price to a certain extent, but due to the high prices you should always find someone to share the cab with.

Money

Cash Cash is good for paying small amounts in super markets, restaurants and food stalls as well as for transportation.
Credit cards Credit cards are widely accepted.
ATMs Especially in the big cities you will find a lot of ATMs. Check with your bank whether they offer special conditions for withdrawl of money at certain other banks.
Money Changer You can find licensed money changers at the airport and in the shopping malls. Most of the time the exchange rate will be better than in your home country.

My Favourites

Pulau Tiga For sure there are islands with even more beautiful beaches and even clearer water. But you can hardly any other island that can offer you lots of nature, jungle, mud vulcanos and animals like snakes and monitor lizards along with beautiful beaches. The visitor hype has also decreased within the last few years when the TV show "Survivor" was shot here.
Gunung Mulu National Park This National Park offers lots of jungle along with some of the largest caves in the world. Don't miss it when several millions bats fly out of Deer Cave in the evening. As they will only fly out if the weather is good you might want to go there for several evenings. But this true miracle of nature is definitely worth it. Also you shouldn't miss the jungle trek to Camp 5. This will take you two days and if you are a littlebit adventurous and in good physical shape you might also consider to climb to the Pinnacles from Camp 5. This will take you another day, but anyway Camp 5 is worth a visit. Sitting on a creek in the jungle and experiencing the sunset in front of 600 metre high riff is simply astonishing.
Mount Kinabalu With a height of 4095 metres Mount Kinabalu is the highest mountain in Southeast Asia (at least as long as you don't consider the Hkabo Razi in northern Myanmar) and one of the most valueable destinations in eastern Malaysia. If you always dreamed of climbing a 4000 metres high peak and if you are in a good physical condition you should definitely consider Mount Kinabalu. There is no other peak in the world of this height which can be climbed that easily. The climb takes you through different zones of climate and vegetation. If the weather is good you will enjoy a great view and an unforgetable sunrise on the top. Accomodation is quite expensive and should be booked several weeks in advance.
Poring After a tough climb to Mount Kinabalu the Hot Springs in Poring are the best way to relax. Poring lies on the border of Mount Kinabalu National Park and along with the hot springs it also offers you a lot of nature. Other attractions like the Tropical or the Orchid Garden are not worth a visit, but you shouldn't miss the Canopy Walk. Try and go there in the early morning or early evening to see as many animals as possible. Just as for Mount Kinabalu accomodation is also very expensive and should be booked in advance.
 
Valid HTML 4.0 Transitional    © 2007-08 by Florian Grupp    Deutsche Version

Singapur | Myanmar | Malaysia

Malaysia

Allgemeines

Malaysia wirbt mit dem Slogan "Malaysia Truly Asia" um Touristen. Ob Malaysia wirklich das wahre (Südost)Asien ist, sei einmal dahingestellt. Unbestritten ist aber, dass es in Malaysia mit die schönsten Strände der Welt und zahlreiche weitere Naturwunder gibt. Leider ist die Abholzung des tropischen Regenwaldes weit fortgeschritten. Trotzdem kann man insbesondere im östlichen Teil Malaysias (Sabah und Sarawak) noch einige Nationalparks finden, in denen es noch ursprünglichen Regenwald gibt. Auch ist hier die Industrialisierung mit der einhergehenden Umweltverschmutzung noch nicht soweit fortgeschritten wie in West-Malaysia und die Anzahl der Touristen hält sich in Grenzen.

Sonnenuntergang auf Pulau Tiga

Verkehrsmittel

Inlandsflüge In ganz Malaysia gibt es ein sehr gut ausgebautes Flugnetz. Sowohl die staatliche Fluglinie Malaysia Airlines (MAS) mit ihrer Regionaltochter MAS Wings in Sarwak und Sabah wie auch die Billigfluglinie Air Asia fliegen fast jede Stadt an. Kuala Lumpur ist das zentrale Drehkreuz, aber oft muss man nicht einmal umsteigen, da es auch zahlreiche Direktflüge gibt, die nicht über Kuala Lumpur gehen.
Bus Zwischen den größeren Städten gibt es Busverbindungen mit komfortablen Reiesebussen. Oft ist die Auswahl an Gesellschaften aber begrenzt und der Fahrpreis ist nicht verhandelbar. Allgemein sind die Straßen in Malaysia sehr gut ausgebaut und haben fast deutsches Niveau.
In den größeren Städten gibt es auch meist ein gut ausgebautes Linienbussystem.
Sammeltaxi Sammeltaxis stellen die Verbindung zwischen großen Städten her, fahren aber auch die kleineren Städte und Dörfer an. Meistens fahren die Sammeltaxis auch am Busbahnhof ab und kosten ungefähr so viel wie ein Busticket. Mitunter muss man allerdings mehrere Stunden warten, bis sich genügend Fahrgäste gefunden haben.
Taxi In den größeren Städten sowie den Touristenorten findet sich immer ein Taxi. Die Taxis haben meist keinen Taxameter und sind recht teuer. Der Preis, ist meistens nicht verhandelbar, sondern festgelegt (z.B. in Kota Kinabalu vom Flughafen in die Innenstadt 20 RM).
Auch für Überlandstrecken kann man sich spezielle Taxis mieten (meist auch an den Busbahnhöfen). Hier kann man den Preis ein bisschen herunterhandeln, trotzdem bleiben die Preise recht teuer.

Geld

Bargeld Bargeld eignet sich vor allem zum Bezahlen kleinerer Beträge in Supermärkten, Restaurants oder Essensständen.
Kreditkarten Die gängigen Kreditkarten werden fast überall akzeptiert.
Geldautomaten In den Städten finden sich zahlreiche Geldautomaten, an denen man mit einer deutschen EC-Karte mit Maestro-Freischaltung einfach Geld abheben kann. Die Abhebung mit EC-Karte ist meistens günstiger wie mit Kreditkarte.
Geldwechsel In den Einkaufszentren und am Flughafen gibt es lizenzierte Geldwechsler. Die Wechselkurse sind meistens besser wie in Deutschland.

My Favourites

Pulau Tiga Es gibt sicherlich Inseln, wo der Strand noch ein bisschen schöner und das Wasser noch klarer ist, aber Pulau Tiga hat neben wunderschönen Stränden auch jede Menge Natur zu bieten. Im Inselinneren gibt es Schlammvulkane, Dschungel und jede Menge Tiere wie Schlangen und große Warane. Der Besucherhype hat inzwischen auch nachgelassen, nachdem zwischenzeitlich auf der Insel die US-Fernsehserie "Survivor" gedreht wurde.
Gunung Mulu National Park Dieser Nationalpark bietet neben Dschungel auch riesige Kalkstein-Höhlen. Auf keinen Fall sollte man verpassen, wenn bei gutem Wetter abends bis zu 5 Millionen Fledermäse aus der Deer Cave fliegen. Da das Wetter sehr wechselhaft ist, benötigt man evtl. mehrere Anläufe, um dises einmalige Naturspektakel zu beobachten. Sehr lohnenswert ist auch der dreitägige Dschungeltrek zu den Pinnacles. Der Aufstieg am zweiten Tag ist allerdings nicht ganz ungefährlich und sollte nur von Personen mit guter körperlicher Kondition gewagt werden. Wer sich den Aufstieg nicht zutraut, sollte trotzdem den zweitägigen Dschungeltrek vom Park Headquartes zum Camp 5 und zurück machen. Das Camp 5 liegt sehr idyllisch und mit etwas Glück kann man einen herrlichen Sonnenuntergang vor einer über 600 Meter hohen Felswand erleben.
Mount Kinabalu Der mit 4095 Metern höchste Berg Südostasiens (sieht man einmal vom Hkabo Razi in Myanmar ab) ist sicherlich eines der lohnensten Ziele in Ost-Malaysia. Wer schon immer mal auf einen 4000er steigen wollte und eine gute Kondition hat, sollte sich auf alle Fälle den Mount Kinabalu vornehmen, denn einen leichter zu besteigenden 4000 Meter hohen Berg gibt es wohl kaum auf der Welt. Der Aufstieg führt einen durch die unterschiedlichsten Klima- und Vegetationszonen. Bei gutem Wetter hat man einen herrlichen Rundumblick und der Sonnenaufgang auf dem Gipfel ist unvergesslich. Die nicht ganz billigen Unterkünfte rund um den Berg sollte man rechtzeitig im Voraus reservieren.
Poring Nach einer anstrengenden Besteigung des Mount Kinabalus sind die heißen Quellen von Poring genau das Richtige. Am Rande des Mount Kinabalu Nationalparks gelegen gibt es neben den heißen Quellen auch jede Menge Natur zu entdecken. Die weiteren Sehenswürdigkeiten wie der Tropical oder Orchid Garden lohnen sich zwar nicht, den Canopy Skywalk sollte man aber keinesfalls verpassen. Um möglichst viele Tiere in den Baumkronen zu sehen, sollte man einen Besuch frühmorgens oder abends einplanen. Wie am Mount Kinabalu sind die ebenfalls sehr teuren Unterkünfte recht rar, daher am besten vorbuchen.
 
Valid HTML 4.0 Transitional    © 2007-08 by Florian Grupp    English Version