My photo albums

Here you can find photos from my trips to Southeast Asia and other places. To view the photo album simply click on the photo on the left. You can also find my albums at Flickr.

photo album Auf Schienen vom Kapitalismus in den Sozialismus und zurück - 13.000km mit dem Zug von Pyongyang nach Singapore Asien Sep. - Dec. 2009 On railway tracks from capitalism to socialism and back - 13.000km by train from Pyongyang to Singapore: A trip by train through North Korea, China, Vietnam, Cambodia, Thailand, Myanmar, Malaysia und Singapore. The link maps to the best-of collection, check the links below for the different countries.
photo album Singapore 2009 Singapore Dec. 2009 Two days at the final stop in Singapore to visit the latest attractions on Sentosa Island and the Southern Ridges.
photo album Malaysia 2009 Malaysia Dec. 2009 Four days in Malaysia on the trip from Thailand nach Singapore. While the sun was shining in Penang, it was raining in Ipoh and Kuala Lumpur.
photo album Thailand 2009 Thailand Dec. 2009 Four days in Thailand on the trip from Cambodia to Malaysia. While waiting for the train ticket to Malaysia I spent my time in Chinatown in Bangkok.
photo album Cambodia 2009 Cambodia Dec. 2009 Four days in Cambodia, two days in the capital Phnom Penh and two days in Battambang.
photo album Myanmar 2009 Myanmar Nov./Dec. 2009 Main focus was a week of steam at the Namtu Mines Railways. But there was also some time left for Yangon, Thazi and Inle-Lake.
photo album Vietnam 2009 Vietnam Nov. 2009 Visits to Hanoi, Halong-Bay, Saigon, Da Lat and Mekong-Delta.
photo album China 2009 China Oct./Nov. 2009 Within six weeks I visited Beijing, Cangyan Shan Si, Datong including Yugang-Grottoes and Xuankong Si, Xi'an with the famous Terracotta Warriors, Suzhou and Tongli, Huangshan (Yellow Mountains), Guilin and Yangshuo and finally Lijiang with tiger leaping gorge.
photo album North Korea 2009 North Korea Oct. 2009 Maybe the craziest experience I ever hadin my whole life. A breathtaking show with 180.000 participants and socialistic propaganda in and around the capital Pyongyang including a trip to the border to South Korea.
photo album Engadin 2009 Switzerland Sep. 2009 One week of family holiday with beautiful weather and a lot of hikes including Albula, Bergell and Bernina.
Photo album holiday Myanmar 2009 Myanmar Jan./Feb. 2009 A third time to Myanmar. This time I focused on areas which are only accessible with a special government permit. I did a lot of travelling with the train, took a three day long boat trip on the Ayeyarwady and visited the silver mine in Namtu.
Photo album holiday Malaysia 2008 Malaysia (Mt. Kinabalu) Jan 2008 The first peak I climbed with more than 4,000 metres in height. It took me one and a half day to climb more than 1,500 metres in height to reach the top at 4,095 metres above sea level and to walk back. Unfortunately there was a lot of rain during the climb. After the climb I relaxed a few days at the nearby Hot Springs of Poring.
Photo album holiday Malaysia 2008 Malaysia (Gunung Mulu) Jan 2008 A five day jungle camp in the Gunung Mulu National Park close to the border of Brunei on the island of Borneo. Along with lots of jungle I experienced large caves, bizarre stone formations, millions of bats and a lot of rain. All in all a fantastic nature experience.
Photo album holiday Malaysia 2008 Malaysia (Pulau Tiga) Jan 2008 After nearly four weeks in Myanmar I relaxed and celebrated New Year on a tiny tropical island. Pulau Tiga, also called Survivor Island due to the fact that the TV show "Survivor" was shot here, lies on the west coast of Borneo. Along with beautiful beaches it also offers a lot of nature and jungle.
Photo album Holidays in Myanmar 2007 Myanmar (Burma) Dec 2007 A second visit to Myanmar, this time I visited the southern part. Highlights were the Golden Rock, Hpa-An as well as the colonial charme of Mawlamyaing and Dawei. Meeting the ever friendly and helpful people in Myanmar after the violent crackdown of peaceful protests in September left me back very thoughtful.
Photo album Holidays in Singapore 2007 Singapore Dec 2007 A stopover of several days in my "second" home Singapore before I continued to travel to Myanmar and Malaysia for six weeks (see photo albums above). Along with a visit to downtown and Chinatown I also managed to go to the Botanical Garden.
Photo album Berlin 2007 Berlin May 2007 Again several days in Berlin. I had fantastic summer weather and visited several museums and parks. Culinary highlights were provided by Ivy and Kuohsiang as they supplied me with authentic self-cooked chinese food.
Photo album Dresden 2007 Dresden Apr 2007 A one day trip to Dresden during the Easter holidays with visits to the reconstructed Frauenkirche, Palace, Zwinger and the Traffic Museum. The weather was very bad, nevertheless the reconstructed Frauenkirche was worth the visit.
Photo album Holidays in Myanmar 2007 Myanmar (Burma) Feb 2007 Golden pagodas and temples, magnificent sunrises and sunsets, cities and villages where it seems that time is standing still for decades along with the ever friendly and helpful people. Definitely the absolute highlight of my trips to Southeast Asia so far.
Photo album Holidays in Thailand 2005 Thailand Dec 2005 A two week round trip to the central and northern part of Thailand. The vibrant city of Bangkok, old temple ruins at Sukothai, temples at Chiang Mai, jungle around the Golden Triangle and beautiful beaches on Ko Samet.
Photo album Holidays in Cambodia 2005 Cambodia Dec. 2005 A trip from Bangok to Siem Reap and Angkor, the former capital of the Khmer-culture in Cambodia. Countless temples in all states of decay, sometimes hidden in the vast jungle around Angkor.
Photo album Berlin 2005 Berlin/Potsdam Oct 2005 A long weekend in Berlin to visit my singaporean friend Kuohsiang. Berlin has changed rapidly since my last visit in 1996. The late autumn weather with lots of sun gave me the chance to a great visit in Potsdam.
 
Valid HTML 4.0 Transitional    © 2007-08 by Florian Grupp    Deutsche Version

Meine Fotoalben

Hier gibt's Fotos von meinen Reisen nach Südostasien und Ausflügen in Deutschland. Zur Ansicht der Alben einfach auf das entsprechende Bild klicken. Weitere Fotoalben von mir finden sich bei Flickr.

Fotoalbum Auf Schienen vom Kapitalismus in den Sozialismus und zurück - 13.000km mit dem Zug von Pyongyang nach Singapur Asien Sep. - Dez. 2009 Auf Schienen vom Kapitalismus in den Sozialismus und zurück - 13.000km mit dem Zug von Pyongyang nach Singapur: Eine Tour mit dem Zug durch Nordkorea, China, Vietnam, Kambodscha, Thailand, Myanmar, Malaysia und Singapur. Der Link geht auf die Best-Of Sammlung, zu den einzelner Länder siehe die folgenden Links.
Fotoalbum Singapur 2009 Singapur Dez. 2009 Ein etwas anderer Blick auf meine "zweite Heimat" Singapur zum Endpunkt meiner langen Zugreise von Pyongyang. Gerade mal zwei Tag Zeit blieben mir bei meist blauem Himmel zur Besichtigung der neuesten Attraktionen auf Sentosa und Southern Ridges.
Fotoalbum Malaysia 2009 Malaysia Dez. 2009 Vier Tage in Malaysia auf der Durchreise von Thailand nach Singapur. Während auf Penang noch die Sonne lachte, war das Wetter in Ipoh und Kuala Lumpur eher bescheiden. Schöne Bilder gibt's trotzdem aus allen drei Städten.
Fotoalbum Thailand 2009 Thailand Dez. 2009 Vier Tage in Thailand auf der Durchreise von Kambodscha nach Malaysia. Das Warten auf das Zugticket vertrieb ich mir in Chinatown in Bangkok. So gibt es auch hauptsächlich nur Nachtaufnahmen aus Chinatown.
Fotoalbum Kambodscha 2009 Kambodscha Dez. 2009 Vier Tage in Kambodscha, jeweils zwei Tage in der Hauptstadt Phnom Penh und in Battambang. Folglich gibt es neben Großstadtatmosphäre ländliche Idylle und ein paar nicht so bekannte Khmer-Tempel.
Fotoalbum Myanmar 2009 Myanmar Nov./Dez. 2009 Im Mittelpunkt stand eine Woche Dampf auf der Minenbahn in Namtu. Aber auch für Yangon, Thazi und den Inle-See reichte es. Insbesondere am Inle-See und im Shan-Hochland enstanden traumhafte Aufnahmen.
Fotoalbum Vietnam 2009 Vietnam Nov. 2009 Eigentlich auch wieder nur auf der Durchreise, entstanden in Hanoi, der Halong-Bucht, Saigon, Da Lat und dem Mekong-Delta ein paar ganz nette Aufnahmen.
Fotoalbum China 2009 China Okt./Nov. 2009 In sechs Wochen besuchte ich Peking, das Felsenkloster Cangyan Shan Si, Datong mit den Yugang-Grotten und dem Felsenkloster Xuankong Si, Xi'an mit der berühmten Terrakotta-Armee, Suzhou und Tongli, Huangshan (Gelbes Gebirge), Guilin und Yangshuo und schließlich Lijiang mit der Tigersprungschlucht.
Fotoalbum Nordkorea 2009 Nordkorea Okt. 2009 Die vielleicht verrückteste Erfahrung, die ich je in meinem Leben hatte. Eine atemberaubende Show mit 180.000 Teilnehmer und sozialistische Propaganda in und um die Hauptstadt Pyongyang samt einem Ausflug an die Grenze nach Südkorea.
Fotoalbum Engadin 2009 Schweiz Sep. 2009 Eine Woche Familienurlaub im Engadin bei herrlichem Wetter und vielen Wanderungen. Darunter Albula, Bergell und Bernina inklusive einer Gletschertour über den Pers- und den Morteratschgletscher.
Fotoalbum Urlaub Myanmar 2009 Myanmar Jan./Feb. 2009 Ein drittes Mal in Myanmar. Diesmal ging es hauptsächlich in Gegenden, die nur mit Sondergenehmigung betreten werden können. Zudem war ich viel mit dem Zug unterwegs, fuhr mehrere Tage mit Schiff den Ayeyarwady hinunter und besuchte die Silbermine in Namtu.
Fotoalbum Urlaub Malaysia 2008 Malaysia (Mt. Kinabalu) Jan. 2008 Mein erster 4000er. In eineinhalb Tagen ging's von 1.500 Höhenmeter auf 4095 Meter und anschließend wieder zurück. Leider war das Wetter ziemlich regnerisch. Im Anschluss an die Bergtour ging es noch ein paar Tage zum Relaxen an die heißen Quellen von Poring.
Fotoalbum Urlaub Malaysia 2008 Malaysia (Gunung Mulu) Jan. 2008 Fünf Tage Dschungelcamp im Gunung Mulu Nationalpark an der Grenze zu Brunei auf Borneo. Neben endlosem Dschungel gab's auch riesige (Tropfstein)Höhlen, bizarre Kalksteinformationen, Millionen von Fledermäusen und jede Menge Regen. Alles in allem ein einmaliges Naturerlebnis.
Fotoalbum Urlaub Malaysia 2008 Malaysia (Pulau Tiga) Jan. 2008 Nach knapp vier Wochen Myanmar war zunächst entspannen und Sylvester feiern auf einer kleinen Tropeninsel angesagt. Pulau Tiga, auch Survivor Island genannt, da hier die gleichnamige Fernsehserie gedreht wurde, liegt vor der Westküste Borneos und bietet neben herrlichen Stränden auch jede Menge Natur.
Fotoalbum Urlaub Myanmar 2007 Myanmar (Burma) Dez. 2007 Ein 2. Besuch in Myanmar, diesmal im Süden. Höhepunkte waren Golden Rock, Hpa-An sowie der koloniale Charme von Mawlamyaing und Dawei. Die Zusammenkunft mit den wiederum sehr freundlichen und hilfsbereiten Menschen nach der brutalen Niederschlagung der friedlichen Proteste im September hinterließ nachdenkliche Erinnerungen.
Fotoalbum Urlaub Singapur 2007 Singapur Dez. 2007 Ein mehrtägiger Zwischenstopp in meiner "zweiten" Heimat Singapur, bevor es dann für knapp sieben Wochen nach Myanmar und Malaysia ging (siehe weitere Fotoalben).
Fotoalbum Berlin 2007 Berlin Mai 2007 Mal wieder drei Tage in Berlin mit Besuchen von Museen und Parks bei meist herrlichem Sommerwetter. Für kulinarische Highlights haben Ivy und Kuohsiang mit authentischen und selbstgekochten chinesischen Gerichten gesorgt.
Fotoalbum Ausflug Dresden 2007 Dresden Apr. 2007 Eintägiger Osterausflug nach Dresden mit Besuch der wiederaufgebauten Frauenkirche, Schloss, Zwinger und Verkehrsmuseum. Leider hat das Wetter nicht so richtig mitgespielt, trotzdem hat sich der Ausflug insbesondere auch wegen der wiederaufgebauten Frauenkirche gelohnt.
Fotoalbum Urlaub Myanmar 2007 Myanmar (Burma) Feb. 2007 Goldene Pagoden und Tempel, herrliche Sonnenauf- und -untergänge, Städte und Dörfer, in denen seit Jahrzehnten die Zeit scheinbar still steht und dazu noch die immer freundlichen und hilfsbereiten Menschen. Bisher der absolute Höhepunkt meiner Reisen nach Südostasien.
Fotoalbum Urlaub Thailand 2005 Thailand Dez. 2005 Mehrwöchige Rundreise durch Zentral- und Nordthailand. Die quirlige Haupstadt Bangkok, alte Tempelruinen in Sukothai, Tempel in Chiang Mai, Dschungellandschaft rund um's Goldene Dreieck und herrliche Sandstrände auf Ko Samet.
Fotoalbum Urlaub Kambodscha 2005 Kambodscha Dez. 2005 Mehrtägiger Abstecher von Bangkok nach Angkor, der ehemaligen Hauptstadt der Khmer-Kultur in Kambodscha. Unzählige Tempel in allen möglichen Stadien des Verfalls, teilweise versteckt im tiefen Urwald.
Fotoalbum Urlaub Berlin 2005 Berlin/Potsdam Okt. 2005 Zwei Tage zu Besuch in Berlin bei meinem Freund Kuohsiang aus Singapur. Berlin hat sich seit meinem letzten Besuch 1996 rapide gewandelt. Zum Abschluss dann noch ein Ausflug nach Potsdam bei herrlichem Spätherbstwetter.
 
Valid HTML 4.0 Transitional    © 2007-08 by Florian Grupp    English Version